Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

Company I, Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Back to: Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Capt. Hugh W. Hastings, Commanding Officer

Page 29

1st Lt. William Tudor Gardiner
1st Lt. Harlan B. Kauffman
1st Lt. John M. O’Connell
1st. Sgt. Roy A. Snow
Sup. Sgt. Wilford H. Bosworth
Mess Sgt. True P. Cheney
Sgt. Walter D. Barker
Sgt. Truman E. Hale
Sgt. William P. Pinkham
Sgt. Harry Woodman
Sgt. Charles S. McLellan
Sgt. Frank R. Ham
Sgt. Morris S. Severy
Sgt. Earl V. Shaw
Sgt. Arthur R. Jones
Sgt. George O. Roland
Sgt. Patrick F. Sweeney
Cpl. John Bauer
Cpl. Michael J. Evans
Cpl. Raymond G. Flynn
Cpl. Thomas M. Gilland
Cpl. Harry James
Cpl. Frederick D. King
Cpl. William R. King
Cpl. Aloysius J. O’Donnell
Cpl. Nels O. Olsen
Cpl. Russell M. Parsons
Cpl. John H. Phillips
Cpl. George L. Popp, jr.
Cpl. James J. Reardon
Cpl. Edward Rex
Cpl. Arthur Ross
Cpl. Stephen C. Seletski
Cpl. William A. Thomas
Cpl. Bertrand L. Witham
Cpl. Ferdinand H. Wagner
Cpl. George DeW. White
Cpl. Arpad L. Masley
Cpl. John E. Dolan
Cpl. Edward H. Kraft

2nd Lt. Robert R. Drummond
Max C. Wildner

Cpl. Leo A. Maloney
Cpl. Charles S. Prosser
Cpl. Jesse L. Startzel
Cpl. John G. Wolfe
Bglr. Joseph A. Bishop
Cook John E. Chapman
Cook Richard K. Hutchins
Cook Archie Poulson
Cook Joseph Krause
Mech. Alvan N. Day
Mech. Carl A. Farnham
Mech. Abram S. Bechtel
Pvt. 1st Cl. Everett Eastman
Pvt. 1st Cl. John W. Kerr
Pvt. 1st Cl. Robert Plumer Baker
Pvt. 1st Cl. Albert Allen Bortmess
Pvt. 1st Cl. John P. Boyd
Pvt. 1st Cl. Pietro Carnesi
Pvt. 1st Cl. Jesse V. Clarke
Pvt. 1st Cl. Grover C. Cowden
Pvt. 1st Cl. Nicholas A. D’Angelo
Pvt. 1st Cl. Louis DeBellis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Michael F. Dobbins
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Drumm
Pvt. 1st Cl. William J. Francis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edward F. Gamber
Pvt. 1st Cl. George E. Gross
Pvt. 1st Cl. Harold J. Haywood
Pvt. 1st Cl. Floyd E. Johnston
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frederick W. Krause
Pvt. 1st Cl. Steve M. Kwapiszewski
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles M. Letteer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Stanley C. Mays
Pvt. 1st Cl. Orla E. McDowell
Pvt. 1st Cl. Albert F. Meck
Pvt. 1st Cl. James J. Monaghan
Pvt. 1st Cl. Franklin H. Mong

Page 29

Pvt. 1st Cl. Dennis M. O’Leary
Pvt. 1st Cl. Earl J. Orth
Pvt. 1st Cl. Albert L. Ortman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Lewis E. Owens
Pvt. 1st Cl. Jevto B. Pjescich
Pvt. 1st Cl. Thomas J. Quinn
Pvt. 1st Cl. Harry J. Raber
Pvt. 1st Cl. John J. Reardon
Pvt. 1st Cl. John D. Samuels
Pvt. 1st Cl. Henry J. Schroer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edward H. Shannon
Pvt. 1st Cl. Howard M. Sharrow
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edward J. Sidelsky
Pvt. 1st Cl. Walter Slater
Pvt. 1st Cl. Joseph E. Springer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Benjamin Stelluto
Pvt. 1st Cl. Leo J. Tan
Pvt. 1st Cl. Leo Vitosick
Pvt. 1st Cl. Leo F. Watt
Pvt. 1st Cl. Sebastian Wolbert
Pvt. 1st Cl. Robert H. Worcester
Pvt. 1st Cl. Wass Yaros
Pvt. 1st Cl. Aleksander Yeskonis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Nevin D. Yost
Pvt. John R. Armagost
Pvt. Francis P. Aaron
Pvt. Llewellyn W. Anderson
Pvt. Clarence W. Anawalt
Pvt. Harry W. Ash
Pvt. Gay Bitner
Pvt. Waley Boginski
Pvt. Roy E. Beam
Pvt. Charles Belohavek
Pvt. Joseph B. Barett
Pvt. Barnes I. Baker
Pvt. Charles W. Barton
Pvt. Edward H. Bozeman
Pvt. Gaetona Bruno
Pvt. Vincenzo Cellucci
Pvt. Guiseppi Costa
Pvt. Francisco Cillo
Pvt. Angelo Catino
Pvt. Francis De S. Cyphert

Pvt. Melvin Banford
Pvt. Pietro Cardillo
Pvt. Chas. R. Cozine
Pvt. John DiDominico
Pvt. Edward F. Daum
Pvt. Edward L. Dunkle
Pvt. Andrew D. Durbish
Pvt. Frank D’Angelo
Pvt. Bruce G. Davenport
Pvt. Charles H. Edmunds
Pvt. Nico DiBattiso
Pvt. Oscar Dube
Pvt. Amos E. Dnttry
Pvt. Michael Esposito
Pvt. Abraham Elkin
Pvt. Medford L. Everett
Pvt. Harry M. Eynon
Pvt. George W. Fleckenstine
Pvt. Alfredo Ferrara
Pvt. Guiseppi E. Filoso
Pvt. George K. Foreman
Pvt. Vincenzo Falce
Pvt. Fiorino Fulgiuitti
Pvt. Willis R. Frill
Pvt. Anthony Gogolin
Pvt. Romeo Gena
Pvt. William Gewerekas
Pvt. Thomas J. Gribbon
Pvt. Miltiadis Gianerakis
Pvt. Leo Gillirallo
Pvt. Linn H. Gleason
Pvt. Stanley P. Graham
Pvt. Antonio Gatani
Pvt. Clinton W. Guthrie
Pvt. Frank Grodoccini
Pvt. Leonard D. Helm
Pvt. Washington Hess
Pvt. George O. Heeter
Pvt. Edward O. Hess
Pvt. Clarence E. Hardy
Pvt. Francis L. Hall
Pvt. Luther B. Harrell
Pvt. Raymond L. Herritt

Page 29

Pvt. Lawrence Hordaenko
Pvt. Elder P. Husler
Pvt. Angelo Isabella
Pvt. Lloyd S. Klingler
Pvt. Leo R. Kirchner
Pvt. George E. Keller
Pvt. Stanley J. Krupinski
Pvt. Louis Koprek
Pvt. Albert R. Labaugh
Pvt. Salvatore LaMantia
Pvt. Peter Lamping
Pvt. Raymond C. Large
Pvt. James H. Lawrence
Pvt. Thomas E. Llewellyn
Pvt. Samuel O. Link
Pvt. James V. Malena
Pvt. Mathias N. Miller
Pvt. Angelo Maiello
Pvt. Harvey A. Morton
Pvt. Guiseppe Mondino
Pvt. Daniel F. Munley
Pvt. Albert R. Mulson
Pvt. Michael Omero
Pvt. George Opp
Pvt. Charles J. Ortli
Pvt. Harrison B. Price
Pvt. Antonio Paeliski
Pvt. Antonio Pampino
Pvt. James Parces
Pvt. Domenico Pantoni
Pvt. Dionysos K. Paelolago
Pvt. E. P. Pray
Pvt. John L. Prichard
Pvt. James B. Rock
Pvt. Henry R. Robinson

Pvt. Chester M. Redmond
Pvt. Alex Rataj
Pvt. Hervey A. Rhinard
Pvt. Josef Rybski
Pvt. Frank Reginelli
Pvt. Luis Rivera
Pvt. Paul Robotti
Pvt. Ezra W. Skow
Pvt. Arthur L. McDonald
Pvt. Anthony Platt
Pvt. Gust Priore
Pvt. Julius W. Schlotterbeck
Pvt. Walter A. Schroeder
Pvt. Raymond R. Splan
Pvt. Thomas A. Shafer
Pvt. Guiseppi Santaguide
Pvt. Mark C. Skow
Pvt. Joseph Santoro
Pvt. Dominico Scoleri
Pvt. Richard H. Shannon
Pvt. Joseph W. Stanley
Pvt. James E. Smathers
Pvt. Ambrose J. Smrekar
Pvt. Charles T. Troutman
Pvt. Francisco Tenteromano
Pvt. Stanislao Tenneriello
Pvt. John Tompkins
Pvt. John R. Ulrich
Pvt. John H. Wentzel
Pvt. John Wvnaueryk
Pvt. William H. Wieben
Pvt. Earl B. Wilson
Pvt. Joseph J. Zechender
Pvt. Ernest C. Thurlow

The publication is organized by unit. We have no additional information for the individuals listed and we are unable to correct errors and omissions in the publication. This information is provided in order to help you locate information regarding your ancestors. We cannot vouch for and make no claims regarding the authenticity of information presented.

Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

The Fifty-Sixth Pioneer Infantry was originally organized by Colonel Arthur T. Balentine as a regiment of Heavy Field Artillery in the National Guard of the State of Maine, under the name of The Milliken Regiment’. The regiment, which was strictly a volunteer organization, was organized in nineteen days, being completed July 25, 1917, under the title The First Maine Heavy Field Artillery Immediately after its organization, on August 20, 1917, by order of the War Department, Colonel Balentine formed from the personnel of the regiment the One Hundred And First Trench Mortar Battery. This was the first Trench Mortar Battery organized in the United States. It comprised one hundred and eighty-one men and two lieutenants under the command of Captain Roger A, Greene. They were assigned to the 26th Division and shortly afterwards sailed for France. At the same time one hundred men were transferred to the One Hundred And First Regiment Of Engineers of the same Division. After these transfers were made, and the physically unfit eliminated, there remained eight hundred men of the original command. Of these, two hundred were later commissioned as officers, or sent to Officers’ Training Schools.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top