Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

Company M, Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Back to: Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Capt. Wilbur M. Towle, Commanding Officer

Page 40 (continued)

1st Lt. Claes Hallencreutz
1st Lt. Harold F. Wakefield
1st Lt. Charles F. Campbell
1st. Sgt. Joseph M. Syron
Sup. Sgt. Arthur W. Rochford
Sgt. Daniel T. C. Drummond
Sgt. Harry I. Bronstein
Sgt. Philip H. Libby
Sgt. Lawrence P. O’Melia

2nd Lt. Arthur Irish
2nd Lt. Francis V. O’Neill
Sgt. Eugene J. Gonyer
Sgt. Charles Lavimonire
Sgt. Carlton F. Pooler
Sgt. Harry F. Smith
Sgt. George B. Lazarus
Sgt. Othmar A. Eichenlaub

Page 41

Sgt. George Paiton
Cpl. Ernest Stansfeild
Cpl. Edward Burke
Cpl. Howard G. Chase
Cpl. Clifford Ball
Cpl. Ernest R. Brosat
Cpl. Philip DeSander
Cpl. Matthew Gmuer
Cpl. John W. Harrison
Cpl. Nicholas Lukach
Cpl. Harry Miller
Cpl. John Nawrocki
Cpl. Frank Nagle
Cpl. Joseph W. Plate
Cpl. Frank V. Snyder
Cpl. Joseph P. Sullivan
Cpl. Louis C. Theodorou
Cpl. Edward Carnigan
Cpl. Ralp A. Clark
Cpl. Andrew T. Lanigan
Cpl. Michael Driscoll
Cpl. James M. Bartlett
Cpl. Warren L. Bampton
Cpl. Arthur L Leader
Cpl. Fred G. Stritzinger 3rd
Cpl. William E. Frye
Cpl. Budd McElroy
Cpl. Frank E. Zeck
Cpl. Chester H. Weiler
Cpl. Charles D. McClellan
Cpl. Walter G. Horn
Cook George St. Cyr
Cook Pasquale D’Antonio
Cook Rudolph Javorski
Cook Vincenzo Rosato
Mech. Francis McB. MacPherson
Mech. Alvin B. Gray
Mech. Clemence A. Hartmann
Mech. Herbert C. Weber
Pvt. 1st Cl. Robert P. Adams
Pvt. 1st Cl. Carl A. Anderson
Pvt. 1st Cl. Raymond G. Bahr
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles Bateman

Pvt. 1st Cl. Claire W. Baker
Pvt. 1st Cl. Wiley Barnow
Pvt. 1st Cl. Gordon R. Bledsoe
Pvt. 1st Cl. Carmel Cataner
Pvt. 1st Cl. Ray E. Christian
Pvt. 1st Cl. Nathaniel Cabral
Pvt. 1st Cl. James Cumming
Pvt. 1st Cl. William G. Clark
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edmund Cole
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Orsini
Pvt. 1st Cl. Norman P. Davis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Luiggi DiNicola
Pvt. 1st Cl. Henry Dinkelocker
Pvt. 1st Cl. Werner Danielson
Pvt. 1st Cl. Earnest W. DeHart
Pvt. 1st Cl. John R. Dillemuth
Pvt. 1st Cl. William C. Doyle
Pvt. 1st Cl. John D. Edinger
Pvt. 1st Cl. William L. Ehrhart
Pvt. 1st Cl. Claude Engle
Pvt. 1st Cl. Conrad Eichenauer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Robert B. Faehl
Pvt. 1st Cl. William A. Fritz
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Helbing
Pvt. 1st Cl. William T. Henzler
Pvt. 1st Cl. Clide G. Harner
Pvt. 1st Cl. Clay H. Hile
Pvt. 1st Cl. Richard W. Hunt
Pvt. 1st Cl. John G. Leininger
Pvt. 1st Cl. Lawson B. Ligett
Pvt. 1st Cl. William H. Mace
Pvt. 1st Cl. Albert L. Madder
Pvt. 1st Cl. Michael Manning
Pvt. 1st Cl. Samuel W. Miller
Pvt. 1st Cl. George R Moyer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Michael O’Day
Pvt. 1st Cl. William E. Parson
Pvt. 1st Cl. Harry Puleo
Pvt. 1st Cl. Elmer E. Seckel, Jr.
Pvt. 1st Cl. Carl W. Seideneck
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles H. Simson
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edwin Stabler
Pvt. 1st Cl. William Summers

Page 42

Pvt. 1st Cl. Stanley Szozda
Pvt. 1st Cl. Lester H. Schaefer
Pvt. 1st Cl. Ignazio Spina
Pvt. 1st Cl. Bud O. Smith
Pvt. 1st Cl. Peter Thomas
Pvt. 1st Cl. Paul W. Troutman
Pvt. 1st Cl. William Walsh
Pvt. 1st Cl. George B. Weidman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edward Weinhold
Pvt. 1st Cl. William Woolman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Lawrence G. Bahr
Pvt. John Anderson
Pvt. Arthur S. Miller
Pvt. Enos H. Alderfer
Pvt. Elmer C. Atkins
Pvt. Carmine Allonardo
Pvt. Pender Armstrong
Pvt. Thomas Ball, jr.
Pvt. Joseph Balla
Pvt. John E. Baedelang
Pvt. Edward A. Bedtow
Pvt. Joseph P. Bittner
Pvt. Raymond F. Blewitt
Pvt. John G. Bender
Pvt. Robert C. Bland
Pvt. Martin A. Bleichner
Pvt. August W. Bedler
Pvt. Irvin A. Brendel
Pvt. Lester E Burnett
Pvt. Joseph H. Bushnell
Pvt. Frank N. Coffey
Pvt. Lugi Caitaniell
Pvt. John L. Campbell
Pvt. John H. Carter
Pvt. Enrico Conigliara
Pvt. William Contestabile
Pvt. James Cooney
Pvt. Gordon S Cramp
Pvt. Dominic Cafferty
Pvt. Frank Cassidy
Pvt. Bernard F. Cadwick
Pvt. Bernard B. Cohen
Pvt. Alwa H. Conaway

Pvt. Stephen C. Corbin
Pvt. Charles D. Crabtree
Pvt. Kergious Crites
Pvt. John E. Crawfis
Pvt. Phillippe Dube
Pvt. George Dicius
Pvt. Chester M. Dube
Pvt. Oliva Beaulieu
Pvt. lgnazio DiFonzo
Pvt. Amato DiNapoli
Pvt. Joseph L. Dolan
Pvt. Ernest Egger
Pvt. James I. Faber
Pvt. Arthur T. Fake
Pvt. Daniel G. Fitting
Pvt. Paul R. Flower
Pvt. Robert F. Fierst
Pvt. Vittorio Fortunato
Pvt. Guiseppe Fotia
Pvt. Fred A. Fude
Pvt. Harry Gassert
Pvt. Earl L. Gates
Pvt. Daniel B. Gibbons
Pvt. Samuel S. Green
Pvt. Alonzo D. Godfrey
Pvt. William W. Hamilton
Pvt. William B. Holmes
Pvt. Hasting B. Heere
Pvt. Claude A. Hertzog
Pvt. Vincent P. Huston
Pvt. Thomas Hackett
Pvt. John H. L. Hellwege
Pvt. Alfred H. Jaconson
Pvt. Guilo Dorinzo
Pvt. William Keiser
Pvt. August P. Klusewitz
Pvt. Leonardo Lombardo
Pvt. Charles F. McKenna
Pvt. Raymond N. Maloney
Pvt. Joseph A. Mang
Pvt. Stanley Michalick
Pvt. William A. Morton
Pvt. James Malachina

Page 43

Pvt. John C. Maloney
Pvt. Charles F. Neuberger
Pvt. James Nicola
Pvt. Warren Oudinot
Pvt. Caleb M. Pennock
Pvt. Ralph W. Penney
Pvt. Enrico Pizzico
Pvt. William M. Pierce
Pvt. Samuel Rosoff
Pvt. Luigi Riccardo
Pvt. Daniel D. Ritts
Pvt. Louis H. Robinson
Pvt. Harry N. Schafer
Pvt. Fred Schuessler
Pvt. John A. Sedlack
Pvt. George E. Siebert
Pvt. Frank C. Sieg
Pvt. Walter Skrocki
Pvt. George B. Stohler
Pvt. John W. Stollar
Pvt. Louis A. Succarage

Pvt. Horatio Scalia
Pvt. Clarence Sharpies
Pvt. Clarence H. Thomas
Pvt. Antonio Todaro
Pvt. Joseph Theresi
Pvt. Guerino Tiberio
Pvt. Frank Villotowski
Pvt. Grant R. Weik
Pvt. Samuel Weiler
Pvt. William F. Wieder
Pvt. Carl G. M. Wolf
Pvt. Vincenzo Festa
Pvt. Joseph M. Mulvihill
Pvt. John R. Beach
Pvt. Chester M. Davis
Pvt. Thomas A. Fitzsimmons
Pvt. James F. Lawlor
Pvt. Lendall F. A. Strout
Pvt. Hakon A. Jacobson
Pvt. Norman F. Noyer

The publication is organized by unit. We have no additional information for the individuals listed and we are unable to correct errors and omissions in the publication. This information is provided in order to help you locate information regarding your ancestors. We cannot vouch for and make no claims regarding the authenticity of information presented.

Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

The Fifty-Sixth Pioneer Infantry was originally organized by Colonel Arthur T. Balentine as a regiment of Heavy Field Artillery in the National Guard of the State of Maine, under the name of The Milliken Regiment’. The regiment, which was strictly a volunteer organization, was organized in nineteen days, being completed July 25, 1917, under the title The First Maine Heavy Field Artillery Immediately after its organization, on August 20, 1917, by order of the War Department, Colonel Balentine formed from the personnel of the regiment the One Hundred And First Trench Mortar Battery. This was the first Trench Mortar Battery organized in the United States. It comprised one hundred and eighty-one men and two lieutenants under the command of Captain Roger A, Greene. They were assigned to the 26th Division and shortly afterwards sailed for France. At the same time one hundred men were transferred to the One Hundred And First Regiment Of Engineers of the same Division. After these transfers were made, and the physically unfit eliminated, there remained eight hundred men of the original command. Of these, two hundred were later commissioned as officers, or sent to Officers’ Training Schools.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top