Headquarters Company, Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Back to: Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Regimental Headquarters

Colonel Arthur T. BalentineCommanding Officer
Lt. Colonel Henry G. Beyer, Jr
Capt. Howard E. BeedyRegimental Adjutant
Capt. James R. HawkesPersonnel Adjutant
Lt. James A. CareyChaplain

Headquarters Company

Capt. Edward B. Hinckley Commanding Officer

Page 3

1st Lt. Kieth Ryan
2nd Lt. Howard 0. Burgess
Rgtl. Sgt. Mjr. Maurice Anderson
Rgtl. Sgt. Mjr. Thomas J. Foster
Bn. Sgt. Mjr. Frank H. Brown
Bn. Sgt. Mjr. Louis T. Marcelle
1st Sgt. Bertie I. Rice
Asst. Band Ldr. George W Wood
Sgt. Bglr. Herbert E Kirkpatrick
Color Sgt. William J. Flanagan
Color Sgt. Charles A. Haynes
Band Sgt. George A. Law
Band Sgt. Fred A. Marston
Band Sgt. Ovila J. Chretien
Band Sgt. Wiliam K. Ingram
Sup. Sgt. Edward F. Crowell
Stable Sgt. John Morris
Sgt. Harold P. Adams
Sgt. Richard F. Bennett
Sgt. Clifton L Allon
Sgt. Wyman W. Boynton
Sgt. Philip J. Keating
Sgt. Lewis J White
Sgt. Albert F. Jones
Sgt. Arthur H. Auld
Sgt. Arno B. Jewett
Sgt. Paul N Landis
Sgt. Ralph L. Curtis
Sgt. John E. Zang
Sgt. Frank C. Eckstrom

2nd Lt. Fred S. Herrick
2nd Lt. Joseph Korda
Band Cpl. Phil. Charland
Band Cpl. Henry G. Hood
Band Cpl. Rae L. Newton
Band Cpl. Edwin A. Rogers
Band Cpl. John H. Roberts
Band Cpl. Ellis L. Wilder
Band Cpl. Albert J. Barriault
Cpl. Harrison M. Otis
Cpl. Percy M. Warren
Cpl. Irving E. Gray
Cpl. Fred S. Latlip?
Cpl. Harry C. McKenney
Cpl. John A. Stockwell
Cpl. Harold R. Varney
Cpl. John M. Coyne
Cpl. Charles H. Drake
Cpl. Jasper Leach
Cpl. Louis H. Dutil
Cpl. John F. Kelly
Cpl. Walter E. Walsh
Cpl. Maurice J. Kavanaugh
Cpl. Harold E. McKenney
Cpl. Joseph H. C. Sampson
Cpl. Melvin G. Sander
Cpl. Paul H Burkrnan
Cpl. Alfred H. Bazal
Cpl. Ralph S. Miller
Cpl. Harry L. Rolf

Page 4

Cpl. Edward H. Schmidt
Mus. 1st Cl. Walter J. Hood
Mus. 1st Cl. Arthur F. Kendall
Mus. 1st Cl. Clarence H. Rowe
Mus. 1st Cl. Norman H.Merrill
Mus. 1st Cl. Vincent DeFulvio
Mus. 1st Cl. Edward Wetzel
Mus. 2nd Cl. Donald W. Hurd
Mus. 2nd Cl. Ralph R. Knight
Mus. 2nd Cl. Warren F. Libby
Mus. 2nd Cl. Harold F. Trask
Mus. 2nd Cl. Tennys B. Wadsworth
Mus. 2nd Cl. George W. Woods
Mus. 2nd Cl. Alless. De Sanctis
Mus. 2nd Cl. Archie G.Gearhart
Mus. 2nd Cl. John J. Pezzoni
Mus. 3rd Cl. Merton L. Bell
Mus. 3rd Cl. Eather S. Burtt
Mus. 3rd Cl. Frederick A. Cook
Mus. 3rd Cl. Edward Freeman
Mus. 3rd Cl. Claude L. Kelley
Mus. 3rd Cl. Raymond Eleary
Mus. 3rd Cl. Danny H.Blecher
Mus. 3rd Cl. Charles N. Chaido
Mus. 3rd Cl. Anton. DiStefano
Mus. 3rd Cl. Ellis M. Ehrhart
Mus. 3rd Cl. Paul M. High
Mus. 3rd Cl. John Lloyd
Mus. 3rd Cl. Lorenzo R. Myers
Mus. 3rd Cl. Joseph Sgro
Mus. 3rd Cl. John A. Tebush
Mus. 3rd Cl. Daniel G. Hamm
Hssr. Harry C. Snow
Mech. Ira B. Hannaford
Mech. Samuel R. McCrum
Mech. Lorenzo B. Sanborn
Mech. George Allen Houck
Cook Percy L. Knight
Cook Charlie S. Wong
Pvt. 1st Cl. Fred DeGrasse
Pvt. 1st Cl. Earl C. Gilley
Pvt. 1st Cl. Leonce Laliberte
Pvt. 1st Cl. Samuel McDonald

Pvt. 1st Cl. Clarence H. Murphy
Pvt. 1st Cl. William C. Stratman
Pvt. Lee W. Anderson
Pvt. Melvin L. Anderson
Pvt. Samuel Applebaum
Pvt. Charles L. Allison
Pvt. Robert L. Baldwin
Pvt. Joseph Bayline
Pvt. Gerald A Bentley
Pvt. William L. Bernheisel
Pvt. William W. Bratt
Pvt. William G. Breitenbach
Pvt. Patrick J. Brown
Pvt. Edmond J. Byrne
Pvt. David H. Buffiim
Pvt. Ivan R. Burnham
Pvt. Vincent Carnaggio
Pvt. Barney S. Carricker
Pvt. Arthur P. Carver
Pvt. Fred A. Casse
Pvt. Courson G Cline
Pvt. Arthur G. Chalk
Pvt. Jesse C. Clark
Pvt. Samuel Cooper
Pvt. Sidney A. Copstein
Pvt. Walter R. Costin
Pvt. John J. Cody
Pvt. Robert N. Davis
Pvt. John B. Dennsteadt
Pvt. Patrick W. Donohue
Pvt. Ernest E. Dorrion
Pvt. John E. Double
Pvt. William Eberenz
Pvt. Herbert C. Eppar
Pvt. Lee A. Ellis
Pvt. Giovanni Ferrante
Pvt. Caleb G. Fisher
Pvt. Lee J. Fitzgerald
Pvt. Percy L. Foy
Pvt. John E. Frank
Pvt. Edward F. Freligh
Pvt. Raymond G. Fry
Pvt. John Ganc

Page 5

Pvt. Joseph B. Garner
Pvt. John A. Gettins
Pvt. Thomas P. Griffith
Pvt. William M. Grolock
Pvt. William E. Grove
Pvt. John Hanzlick
Pvt. Grover C. Haynes
Pvt. Lloyd Harrison
Pvt. Percy E. Howard
Pvt. Harry. Hoegh
Pvt. George A. Hollins
Pvt. Junius A Howe
Pvt. Joseph F. Hutchinson
Pvt. Erid I. Iverson
Pvt. Howard H. Jeutter
Pvt. Charles E. Jobborn
Pvt. Andrew A Johnson
Pvt. Oswald Jones
Pvt. William B. Jones
Pvt. James W. Keenan
Pvt. Charles A. Kent
Pvt. John E. Kernechel
Pvt. Thomas Kornell
Pvt. Howard C. Kramer
Pvt. Martin Krauss
Pvt. Herbert Lamphier
Pvt. John F. Landis
Pvt. Martin G. Leedy
Pvt. John D. Lockey
Pvt. Pleasant Long, jr.
Pvt. Stanley W. Lorene
Pvt. Thomas R. Manning
Pvt. Oris H. Marshall
Pvt. Willie C. McDonald
Pvt. Colon A. McFayden
Pvt. Lauthie J. McInnis
Pvt. Beverly C. McIntyre
Pvt. Joseph B. McKnight
Pvt. Ernest McLean
Pvt. James R. Meisenheimer
Pvt. Bryan S. Mohr
Pvt. Duncan 0. Monroe
Pvt. Samuel D. Montgomery

Pvt. John C. Moore
Pvt. Raymond W. Morrison
Pvt. Thomas B. Newell
Pvt. Erick S. Nilson
Pvt. Walter E. Nolf
Pvt. Charlie W. Odom
Pvt. Lowery M. Owen
Pvt. John 0. Pace
Pvt. Leonard H. Pace
Pvt. Charles J. Palmer
Pvt. Claude G. Pankey
Pvt. Clinton Ch. Parker
Pvt. William B. Phillips
Pvt. Francis Pope
Pvt. William F. Pritchard
Pvt. Henry Rainwaters
Pvt. Augustus M. Rankin
Pvt. Henry Resnick
Pvt. Sumrnie Richardson
Pvt. William C. Robinson
Pvt. John N. Roff
Pvt. James P. Ross
Pvt. John E. Rutter
Pvt. Ivory T. Houston
Pvt. John Sanders
Pvt. Williams Schaefer
Pvt. Arnold Schmalz
Pvt. Walter Shaub. Jr.
Pvt. Finley Smith
Pvt. Daniel C. Smith
Pvt. Dorsey Smith
Pvt. Charles E. Sieber, Jr.
Pvt. Warren R. Stahlnecker
Pvt. Victor R. Shearer
Pvt. Arthur F. Stein
Pvt. Jesse F. Stillwell
Pvt. Joseph B. Taney
Pvt. Walter L. Taylor
Pvt. James F Thomas
Pvt. Paul S. Thomas
Pvt. Vincent Vesce
Pvt. Kenneth C. Walker
Pvt. Clifton A. Weber

Page 6

Pvt. John Weamert
Pvt. Roscoe Wells
Pvt. John M. West
Pvt. Homer F. Wilson
Pvt. William E. Whitten

Pvt. Herman R. Winkler
Pvt. John H. Wolf
Pvt. Edward H. Wurzbacher
Pvt. Joseph Zarnowsky
Pvt. Percy F. Purington

The publication is organized by unit. We have no additional information for the individuals listed and we are unable to correct errors and omissions in the publication. This information is provided in order to help you locate information regarding your ancestors. We cannot vouch for and make no claims regarding the authenticity of information presented.

Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

The Fifty-Sixth Pioneer Infantry was originally organized by Colonel Arthur T. Balentine as a regiment of Heavy Field Artillery in the National Guard of the State of Maine, under the name of The Milliken Regiment’. The regiment, which was strictly a volunteer organization, was organized in nineteen days, being completed July 25, 1917, under the title The First Maine Heavy Field Artillery Immediately after its organization, on August 20, 1917, by order of the War Department, Colonel Balentine formed from the personnel of the regiment the One Hundred And First Trench Mortar Battery. This was the first Trench Mortar Battery organized in the United States. It comprised one hundred and eighty-one men and two lieutenants under the command of Captain Roger A, Greene. They were assigned to the 26th Division and shortly afterwards sailed for France. At the same time one hundred men were transferred to the One Hundred And First Regiment Of Engineers of the same Division. After these transfers were made, and the physically unfit eliminated, there remained eight hundred men of the original command. Of these, two hundred were later commissioned as officers, or sent to Officers’ Training Schools.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top