Company A, Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Back to: Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry

Page 8 (continued)

Capt. James W. Eastman, Commanding Officer

1st Lt. Eric R. Britain
1st Lt. Falconer R. Gilbert
1st Sgt. Edwin S. Burt

2nd Lt. Alfred J. Archambault
2nd Lt. Arthur S. Heath.
Mess Sgt. Clinton E. Parrott

Page 9

Sup Sgt. Harond E. Pledger
Sgt. Charles P. Mitchell
Sgt. James E. Moore, Jr.
Sgt. Elias C. Peterson
Sgt. Paul G. Whittemore
Sgt. Philip B. Young
Sgt. Donald W. Libby
Sgt. James L. Smith
Sgt. John E. Woodman
Sgt. Robert A. Boyd
Sgt. Albion P. Gooding
Sgt. Harry R. Mac Intosh
Sgt. Everett R. Lombard
Cpl. Ralph W. Steeves
Cpl. Carl C. Anderson
Cpl. Benjamin H. Gowen
Cpl. Charles Hall
Cpl. Camille E. Grondin
Cpl. Anthony J. Lopez
Cpl. Galen M. Low
Cpl. Herbert Oberg
Cpl. George Provencher
Cpl. Ernest W. Griffin
Cpl. Arthur W. Thompson
Cpl. Albert V. Wainwright
Cpl. Richard W. Fox
Cpl. Walter A. Hippie
Cpl. Robert Larson
Cpl. Louis Leone
Cpl. William M. Roberts
Cpl. Charles M. Way
Cpl. John J. Hart
Cpl. John W. McCormack
Cpl. James L. Sallot
Cpl. Frank Pilger
Cpl. Henry M. Ogden
Cpl. Frank L. Koelle
Cpl. John Plaggerman
Cpl. William M. Stevens
Bglr. William Franklin
Cook Frank S. Transue
Cook Howard L. Smith
Cook Harry C. Wright

Cook Pietro Neri
Mech. Everett H. Allen
Mech. George B. Gavett
Mech. Lucas M. Marson
Mech. George W. Talbot
Pvt. 1st Cl. Hollis P. Dallzell
Pvt. 1st Cl. Arthur S. Dodge
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charls. Cruttenden
Pvt. 1st Cl. Harry S. Owens
Pvt. 1st Cl. James T. Robertson
Pvt. 1st Cl. John C. Andrew
Pvt. 1st Cl. Vincent Burzynski
Pvt. 1st Cl. Tucker Coleman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles J. Blair
Pvt. 1st Cl. William O. Blank
Pvt. 1st Cl. Mahlon A. Bunn
Pvt. 1st Cl. Edward H. Caldwell
Pvt. 1st Cl. Oliver Cole
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Davis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Sebastiano DiFonso
Pvt. 1st Cl. David I. Dibert
Pvt. 1st Cl. John D. Duley
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frank Eremchyk
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frank V. Forsberg
Pvt. 1st Cl. Leroy Grimes
Pvt. 1st Cl. Samuel D. Centry
Pvt. 1st Cl. Viggo Hanson
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles Heter
Pvt. 1st Cl. Andy Hosner
Pvt. 1st Cl. John W. Kratochvil
Pvt. 1st Cl. James Murray
Pvt. 1st Cl. Morris Lempert
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Libert
Pvt. 1st Cl. Charles E. Murray
Pvt. 1st Cl. Michael J. Mead
Pvt. 1st Cl. James A. Morrow
Pvt. 1st Cl. Daniel A. McGarvey
Pvt. 1st Cl. Daniel Mc Ginn
Pvt. 1st Cl. John Q. Nations
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frank A. Nazzario
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frank E. O’Donnell
Pvt. 1st Cl. Julius 0. Odom
Pvt. 1st Cl. Alfred H. Parson

Page 10

Pvt. 1st Cl. Carmine Pietropaelo
Pvt. 1st Cl. Ernest Rheubottom
Pvt. 1st Cl. Christian L. Rollman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Albert C. Scheffold
Pvt. 1st Cl. Archie Soltis
Pvt. 1st Cl. John G. Smith
Pvt. 1st Cl. William Tufta
Pvt. 1st Cl. Frank T. Tarkowski
Pvt. 1st Cl. George P. Treis
Pvt. 1st Cl. Delbert B. Tufford
Pvt. 1st Cl. William Volkman
Pvt. 1st Cl. Jack A. Wall
Pvt. Albert Alexander
Pvt. William Anderson
Pvt. Oscar W. Ball
Pvt. Thomas Beatty
Pvt. Guy S. Beighly
Pvt. Jay J. Belknap
Pvt. John B. Bonghi
Pvt. Theodore J. Boyd
Pvt. Martin J. Bozard
Pvt. Alvid P. Brant
Pvt. John Bredin, Jr.
Pvt. Vernon L. Bright
Pvt. Sumpter Bullard
Pvt. Earnest G. Burdick
Pvt. Archie A. Campbell
Pvt. Pasquale Cannavino
Pvt. Willis A. Capps
Pvt. Clarence Carter
Pvt. Frank H. Clark
Pvt. Preston J. Clark
Pvt. Giovanni Cocciletti
Pvt. Prescott C. Cougle
Pvt. Edward V. Davis
Pvt. Nicholas Delegianis
Pvt. Frank Dellenbach
Pvt. Kastantas Demikis
Pvt. George Diakos
Pvt. Ernest S. Dimm
Pvt. Thomas B. Drummond
Pvt. George C. Edens
Pvt. Oscar W. Erickson

Pvt. Daniel M. Edwards
Pvt. Alfred Forchetti
Pvt. Oliver E. Forsht
Pvt. Antonio Furcillo
Pvt. Guisippe Gasparro
Pvt. David W. Griggs
Pvt. George Guy
Pvt. Thomas Henderson
Pvt. Andrew L. Herster
Pvt. Hugh G. Jackson
Pvt. George D. Jamar
Pvt. Edward 0. Johnson
Pvt. John B Johnson
Pvt. William L. Kahne
Pvt. Lonny Kirkley
Pvt. Joseph J. Kosicki
Pvt. Frederick W. Kramer
Pvt. Grover Kratzmeier
Pvt. Thomas Lake
Pvt. Daniel M Leonard
Pvt. Orazio Licciardello
Pvt. Robert C. Livingston
Pvt. Robert M. Lollis
Pvt. Samuel Marion
Pvt. Michael Marro
Pvt. Stefano Massimino
Pvt. Herman H. Matheson
Pvt. Arthur R. McClure
Pvt. James J. McCullough
Pvt. James J. McGuirk
Pvt. John E. McKeown
Pvt. Robert McLamb
Pvt. Eugene C. McLaughlin
Pvt. Oscar N. Melton
Pvt. Nicholas Merlino
Pvt. Carl W. Myers
Pvt. Felix Michel
Pvt. Wade H. Miller
Pvt. Hampton H. Morgan
Pvt. Charles Moske
Pvt. Max H. Mourhess
Pvt. Harvey Musselman
Pvt. Henry J. Myers

Page 11

Pvt. George W. Newberry
Pvt. George A. O’neill
Pvt. Frank Pagano
Pvt. Alford Paul
Pvt. Simon H. Pfister
Pvt. Albert M. Pietrowski
Pvt. Charles S. Pliszka
Pvt. George W. Powell
Pvt. Daniel Pullino
Pvt. Alfred Radford
Pvt. Paul Eugene Ramsey
Pvt. William C. F. Reichel
Pvt. George J Reitz
Pvt. James W. Rooney
Pvt. Edward H. Saffield
Pvt. Frank Safford
Pvt. Charles J. Shannon
Pvt. Oscar Shaw
Pvt. William E. Simmons

Pvt. Harry J. Smith
Pvt. Frank Stainno
Pvt. Oscar W. Stamper
Pvt. Alexander Stankiewis
Pvt. Willie J. Steading
Pvt. William G. Stephens
Pvt. Charles R. Stevenson
Pvt. Carl F. Sullivan
Pvt. Charles E. Timm
Pvt. Guiseppe Travato
Pvt. Arthur L. Vermilyea
Pvt. Edgar A. Weyant
Pvt. Jesse S. Williams
Pvt. Joe M. Williams
Pvt. Frederick L. Wish
Pvt. Frank Calizzo
Pvt. Wallace M. Weber
Pvt. George O. Gee.

The publication is organized by unit. We have no additional information for the individuals listed and we are unable to correct errors and omissions in the publication. This information is provided in order to help you locate information regarding your ancestors. We cannot vouch for and make no claims regarding the authenticity of information presented.

Fifty-Sixth Pioneer-Infantry (First Maine Heavy Field Artillery) with the Army of Occupation in Germany New Year 1919

The Fifty-Sixth Pioneer Infantry was originally organized by Colonel Arthur T. Balentine as a regiment of Heavy Field Artillery in the National Guard of the State of Maine, under the name of The Milliken Regiment’. The regiment, which was strictly a volunteer organization, was organized in nineteen days, being completed July 25, 1917, under the title The First Maine Heavy Field Artillery Immediately after its organization, on August 20, 1917, by order of the War Department, Colonel Balentine formed from the personnel of the regiment the One Hundred And First Trench Mortar Battery. This was the first Trench Mortar Battery organized in the United States. It comprised one hundred and eighty-one men and two lieutenants under the command of Captain Roger A, Greene. They were assigned to the 26th Division and shortly afterwards sailed for France. At the same time one hundred men were transferred to the One Hundred And First Regiment Of Engineers of the same Division. After these transfers were made, and the physically unfit eliminated, there remained eight hundred men of the original command. Of these, two hundred were later commissioned as officers, or sent to Officers’ Training Schools.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top